CASTLE DONINGTON, UK (5 March 2015) – Scott Speed was announced today to the Andretti Formula-E team for the upcoming Miami ePrix. The former Formula One racer will pilot the No. 28 Spark-Renault SRT_01 E on the downtown Miami, FL street circuit.”It’s been so long since I raced an open-wheel car, I feel like I am getting ready for the first day of school,” Speed said. “So much excitement! Having this opportunity with Andretti is amazing. It’s super cool to be able to race so many different types of cars within the team. I am anxious to get to Miami, and I am up for the challenge.”The California native is no stranger to the electric-powered vehicle having tested for the Michael Andretti-led program during the pre-season. However, Speed can usually be found driving in the Red Bull Global Rallycross series, another venture under the Andretti team’s racing repertoire. For the ePrix, on the eight-turn, 2.17-km circuit along the Biscayne Bay, the 32-year-old joins Formula One driver Jean-Eric Vergne to complete the two-driver lineup.


As the first of two rounds of competition on U.S. soil, the Miami ePrix will serve as one of the home races for the American team. The race will go live on FOX Sports at 3:30 p.m. ET.


The Andretti Formula-E team is currently fourth in the FIA Formula-E Championship at 41 points. For information on the team, visit  or follow us on Twitter via @AndrettiFE.


About Andretti Autosport
Based in Indianapolis and led by racing legend Michael Andretti, Andretti Autosport boasts a wide racing portfolio rooted in tradition and designed for success. Together with Andretti Formula-E and Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross, Andretti Autosport fields multiple entries in the IndyCar Series, Indy Lights and the Pro Mazda Championship, along with entries in the FIA Formula-E Championship and Global Rallycross. The company boasts four IndyCar Series championships (2004, 2005, 2007, 2012), two Indy Lights titles (2008 and 2009), one Pro Mazda championship (2013) and one USF2000 championship (2010) and has three times captured victory at the famed Indianapolis 500 (2005, 2007, 2014). To share in the Andretti story, please visit online at or and follow along on Twitter via @FollowAndretti.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *